Scorpions and Quiche

So, as some may know, one of my favorite men is in Thailand on vacation with a couple of good buddies. Currently they are resting up in Chiang Mai. The other day I found myself grocery shopping and he’s sending me a text and photos of them eating scorpions in Bangkok. Here I am at Meijer, trying to figure out what to get my kids for lunch that day and he’s experiencing something cool in a faraway land, I wasn’t jealous at all. Beautiful photos of street vendors, a shrimp as large as his hand, breakfast in Bangkok, statues, neighborhood dogs…He found me a monk’s bowl and a fine silk scarf. He has the best taste and his gifts are always incredibly meaningful. That being said, again today I have had to focus on that which tests the limits of my jealousy. I love self-actualization, but damn does it hurt like a bitch!

image

That’s a “shrimp”! Photo courtesy of Michael Darmes

image

Breakfast in Bangkok. Photo courtesy of Michael Darmes

image

Vendor in Bangkok. Photo courtesy of Michael Darmes

image

Monk’s Bowl from Bangkok.

image

Look at those colors!!!

So here I sit trying to decide what to cook for us that will take my mind off of the fabulousness of his vacation. It’s a balmy 30 degrees here in Michigan right now I think! A big plus about having to stay at his place is that he has MY oven. Yes mine, I MUST own one. The Cuisinart Combo Steam and Convection Oven, it is a miracle worker packed into a futuristic looking package. As soon as I have the “extra” cash, we will be making a purchase, leftovers will never go to waste again with this beautiful machine! I could go on for days about this gorgeous piece of machinery, but let’s just say that I can cook WHATEVER I would like and have it come out looking professional at least. So I can across this recipe and thought that I might try it. Take THAT Thailand!! lol No, I will not be bitter…

If you would like to attempt this with me, check it out here

Spinach Mushroom Feta Crustless Quiche is the best breakfast or dinner without all the guilt!

Photo courtesy of Real Housemoms

Leave a comment