from scratch club

Making vegetable stock is so easy, yet I’m guessing that not all of you have homemade stock on hand. By the time I remember to make some stock, I only have half an onion or a single celery stalk to work with and something about buying a whole basket of fresh veggies just to boil them down into stock is sacrilege to me. To remedy the situation, here is an easy, why-haven’t-I-done-this-before tip for making your own vegetable stock: save veggie scraps, peels & extras in the freezer throughout the week and once the bag fills up, you’ve got your stock ingredients!

That’s the great part about stock– you can use the leftover parts of veggies that would otherwise go to waste. In addition to cutting up a few extra chunks of whatever vegetable I’m working with, I also save onion peels, carrot ends, leek greens and other scraps. I…

View original post 686 more words

Leave a Reply

