Beans and Rice for Breakfast?

Quite often I am trying to figure out ways to sneak some iron and other healthy goodness into our meals. I read up somewhere that if you start “slipping” legumes, lentils, etc. into their cereal or oatmeal in the morning early enough, they will continue to eat it. I now do it with split peas and avocado also. What I need to do is try it for myself being that my iron is so low. When my oldest was born I was in no mind frame to even glance at the importance of healthy foods at the beginning of a child’s life. Fast forward 10 years and I had begun to look at the importance with my second child. Still, it wasn’t until just about a year and a half ago that I really started to pay attention.

From Ninja Blender to breakfast bowl in seconds!!

Some days it is hard for me to “get ahead” on the tasks at hand so I just have to whip something together. It never ceases to amaze me… it doesn’t matter what you give this kid to eat, as long as you add a couple tablespoons of applesauce or a splash of coconut milk. This morning, black beans and rice…with coconut milk.

The kid is really bothered by textures. Well, he’s bothered by quite a few things! Funny how I see so much of myself in that. I sit back every meal time and crack up! He will sit and inspect before he touches anything.

As soon as his brain gives him Today I ran out of oatmeal and came up with black beans and rice, with just a hint of applesauce. I just added a can of cooked black beans, some fresh white rice, some coconut water and of course, a dash of applesauce! He might be iffy at first, but he will never go without eating!

Leave a Reply

